After spending a week at home attempting to find long skirts and reconciling myself to nine weeks without a blow dryer, I still don’t think I have fully wrapped my head around the fact I am going to Uganda. Tomorrow. For nine weeks. But I am so excited!

While I may not truly realize that I am, in fact, going to Uganda until I am in Uganda, I have been spending some of my time reading about the organization I am working for and various cultural norms. Kitovu Mobile (http://www.kitovumobile.org) is an organization seeking to alleviate some of the burden AIDS brings to a community. It wants to improve the quality of life for those living with AIDS or the family members such as orphans left behind. I am not entirely sure what I will be doing yet; however, I have found some articles that provide a basic background. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/10/world/africa/10aidscondom.html?scp=10&s… is an excellent article and I highly recommend the video if anyone wants an idea of what Uganda is facing. I know I really want to work directly with people so I hope this is something I can accomplish with Kitovu Mobile.

Since coming home the number one question I get from people when they hear i am going to Uganda is: “why?” I find each time I answer it a little bit d
It is nearly midnight, and I have to leave the house at 6:15 to fly out of Cleveland to Washington DC. Attached is a photo of my luggage. The only thing I am entirely confident in is that I forgot something.

Hilary Landfried

Uganda Intern

